Skip to content

The Era of …

March 10, 2015

Presidents Jefferson, Madison, and Monroe all served two terms and occupied the White House for a total of 24 consecutive years. This was the only time in American history that three successive Presidents served two full terms. They all belonged to the same political party, and despite the War of 1812 and the undercurrents of sectionalism, it was a time of relative stability that culminated in the Era of Good Feeling.

When President Obama completes his second term, it will be only the second time there have been three successive two-term Presidents. How will historians characterize the 24 years from 1993 to 2017?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: