Skip to content

Whig Presidents

January 28, 2013

The Whig Party elected two Presidents.  Both were popular Generals, and both died in office.  Their successors did not even get their party’s nomination to run for a term of their own.

The first Whig President was William Henry Harrison.  He served only one month.  His vice-president was John Tyler, who was really a Democrat.

The only other Whig elected President was Zachary Taylor.  His vice-president was Millard Fillmore. 

The Whigs ran another military man in 1852.  His name was Winfield Scott.  He lost to Democrat Franklin Pierce.




Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: